

MPS World Summit: Systems Engineering of Microphysiological Systems

Virtual event - December 9th 2021, 9 am – 1 pm EST

https://mpsworldsummit.com

Registration is open via **ZOOM**

Program

9:00 am - 9:05 am	Welcome, Thomas Hartung, JHU
9:05 am – 9:35 am	Keynote: Donald Ingber, Wyss Institute, Harvard University
	Human Organ Chips as Tools for Therapeutic Discovery and Clinical Mimicry
9:35 am – 10:55 am	MPS Hardware and enabling Technologies (15 min talk, 5 min Q&A)
	*Young investigator award nominee
	9:35am-9:55am Melissa Mendoza, Binghamton University, USA
	Early and Late Calcific Aortic Valve Disease-on-a-chip
	<u>9:55am-10:15am</u> Christopher W. McAleer, Hesperos, Inc. USA
	Multi-Organ System for the Evaluation of efficacy and off-target toxicity of Anti-Cancer Therapeutics
	10:15am-10:35am James Tronolone*, Texas A&M University, USA
	A machine-learned microvasculature optimizes physiological insulin secretion in a vascularized pancreas-chip
	<u>10:35am-10:55am</u> Kenta Shinha*, Tokai University, Japan
	Microphysiological system (MPS) platforms with high operability and pumping capability for commercialization
10:55 am – 11 am	Break

11 am – 12:20 pm Cell models and applications for MPS (15 min talk, 5 min Q&A)

*Young investigator award nominee

11:00am-11:20am Devin Mair*, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Microgravity-Induced Mitochondrial Dysfunction in Human iPSC-Based 3D Cardiac Microphysiological System

11:20am-11:40am Zhong (Alan) Li*, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Synovial Joint-on-a-chip System for Modeling Osteoarthritic Features and Predicting Drug Efficacy

11:40am-12:00pm Michelle Brouwer, MIMETAS, The Netherlands

Modelling T Cell-Vasculature co-culture in a high-throughput microfluidic platform

12:00pm-12:20pm Colette Bichsel, Roche, Switzerland

Engineering the neurovascular unit in vitro to improve drug delivery to the brain

- 12:20 pm 12:25 pm Voting for the best presentation by young investigator
- 12:25 pm 12:55 pm Panel discussion and Q&A

Panel participants:

Adrian Roth, Roche - moderator Linda Griffith, MIT Alysson Moutri, University of California San Diego Peter Loskill, Tuebingen University Uwe Marx, TissUse, Yasuyuki Sakai, University of Tokyo

12:55 pm – 1 pm Young Investigator Travel Award Announcement, closing remarks